Connect with us


EU ministers agree to new Russia sanctions over Ukraine crisis



EU ministers agree to new Russia sanctions over Ukraine crisis


Brussels, Feb. 18, 2019 (dpa/NNN) European Union (EU) foreign ministers agreed on Monday to impose further sanctions on Russian individuals in relation to the crisis in Ukraine, the bloc’s foreign policy chief Federica Mogherini said following talks in Brussels.

“I can confirm that there is political consensus on some further measures to be taken, personal targeted sanctions,” the EU’s top diplomat told journalists.

The decision will be formally adopted “in the coming days,” she added.

It follows a request by Ukrainian Foreign Minister, Pavlo Klimkin, in December, following a renewed flare-up in tensions between Moscow and Kiev.

Fewer than 10 individuals are expected to be on the new list.

In November, Russia’s coastguard had opened fire and captured Ukrainian naval vessels and 24 crew members in the Kerch Strait, which links the Black Sea and the Sea of Azov.

Relations between Ukraine and neighbouring Russia have plummeted since Moscow annexed Ukraine’s Crimea region in 2014, while also supporting separatist groups battling the Ukrainian military.

The EU has already imposed asset freezes and EU travel bans on 164 people and 44 entities for actions undermining Ukraine’s territorial integrity, sovereignty and independence.

In addition, the bloc has hit Russia with economic sanctions targeting its financial, energy and defence industries, as well as impeding banks’ access to EU markets and limiting certain EU imports.

These measures also include a ban on arms trade. (dpa/NNN)



Edited by Fatima Sule/Julius Toba-Jegede


© 2019 NNN NEWS NIGERIA. All Rights Reserved.