Connect with us


9th Assembly Speakership race: Gbajabiamila locks horns with Bago



Election for the office of the Speaker of the 9th Assembly has commenced with Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila (APC-Lagos) and Rep. Umar Bago (APC-Niger) in the race.

This was sequel to the call for nominations by the Clark of the National Assembly, Mr Mohammed Sani-Omolori at the inauguration of members-elect on Tuesday on the floor of the house.

Rep. Abdulmumin Jibrin (APC-Kano) nominated Gbajabiamila for the office of Speaker and was seconded by Rep. Lynda Chuba (PDP-Anambra) as supporters row is loud ovation.

While accepting the nomination, Gbajabiamila promised to serve selflessly if elected speaker of the house.

Also, Rep. Abubakar Unusa (APC-Gombe) nominated Rep. Umar Bago (APC-Niger) for the office of the Speaker and was seconded by Rep. Mark Gbillah (PDP-Benue)

Bago while accepting his nomination said that his aspiration is for generations to come.

News Agency of Nigeria reports that out of the 360 members- elect, 358 are present and legible to vote.

NAN also reports that election is ongoing and the Clerk will announce results immediately after voting is concluded.



Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!