Connect with us


Breaking News: Lawan emerges 9th Senate President, polling 79 votes




The Senator-elect, Ahmad Lawan (APC-Yobe), has been declared the winner of the senate presidential election held at the Senate Chamber on Tuesday.

The Clerk of the National Assembly, Mr Mohammed Sani-Omolori, made the announcement in Abuja.

News Agency of Nigeria reports that Lawan and Senator-elect, Ali Ndume (APC-Borno), contested for the highest position.

While Lawan polled 79 votes, Ndume got only 28 votes.

Mr Sani-Omolori said having scored the highest votes, Lawan, had been duly elected as the Nigeria’s Senate President of the 9th National Assembly.

Edited by Mustapha Lamidi


Pin It on Pinterest

Share This

Share This

Share this post with your friends!