Connect with us

General news

APC sweeps Zamfara LG polls




Gusau, April 28, 2019 The Zamfara Independent Electoral Commission (ZSIEC) has declared the candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as winners of the Local Government Council election in the state.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that 42 political parties participated in the polls, but the major opposition political parties in the state boycotted the elections.

NNN recalls that some political parties in the state, including the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Accord Party, had  last week filed a case at the state High Court in Gusau, challenging the State Independent Electoral Commission over failure to serve election notice to political parties in the state.

Declaring the result, the Executive Chairman of the commission, Alhaji Garba Muhammad, said: “In accordance with the Law of the Commission No 4 2012 as ammended, I, Garba Muhammad as the Chief Returning of the LG election in Zamfara, hereby announce the results of the 14 local government elections conducted by the commission on Saturday, April 27, 2019.”

Muhammad said 147 candidates of the councillorship positions and 28 chairmanship and vice chairmanship candidates of the APC also won the elections in all the 14 local government areas of the state.

He listed the winners of Chairmanship positions of the 14 local government areas as follows:

1. Anka – Ahmad Balarabe with 38,698 votes

3. Bungudu – Abdul’aziz Ahmad – 75,219 votes,

4. Bakura – Dandare Dandako – 65,060 votes

5. Bukkuyum – Nasiru Zarumi – 64,049 votes

6. Gummi – Kabiru S-Aski – 53,668 votes

7. Gusau – Alhaji Babangida – 115,142 votes

9. Maradun – Ahmad Abubakar – 50,812 votes

10. Maru – Salisu Isah – 75,274 votes

11. Shinkafi – Sani Galadi – 48,469 votes

12. Talata-Mafara – Lawal Marafa – 70,625 votes

13. Tsafe – Aminu Mudi – 74,521 votes

14. Zurmi – Awwal Bawa – 76,510 votes

The chairman thanked the state government for providing logistics support to the commission.

He also commended security agencies in the state for ensuring peaceful atmosphere in the state during the election.

Besides, he laudded the political parties in the state who participated in the election, saying: “In the previous elections in 2012 and 2016 we recorded few political parties, but for this election 42 political parties participated.

“We gave election notice to political parties since January this year for this exercise and most of them acknowledged our letters,” he said.

He appreciated the Media, Civil Society Organisations and other stakeholders for their support and cooperation which led to the success of the election.

Load more

Contact US: editor[at], nnnnews247[at]

Recent Posts

February 2020
« Jan

NNN News Nigeria: NNN is an online Nigeria news portal that publishes breaking news in politics, business, entertainment, sport, security, features, opinion, environment, education, technology, and the world news at large. NNN publishes only news that is factual, credible, verifiable, authoritative and investigative. NNN is a media subscriber of the News Agency of Nigeria. NNN is a unique media organization that is founded in the spirit of Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, comprising of ordinary people with an overriding commitment to seeking the truth and publishing it without fear or favor. Contact: editor[at]

© 2014 - 2019 NNN News Nigeria. All Rights Reserved.