Connect with us


Court sentences 3 teenagers to 3 months imprisonment each for cultism




Yaba Chief Magistrates’ Court on Friday sentenced t

hree teenager to three months imprisonment each for belonging to an unlawful society and smoking


in public.

Magistrate S.O. Obasa, sentenced

Haruna Ahmed, 18, Orilomo Isiah, 19, and Gideon Tugbor, 19, after they pleaded guilty to three counts of

conspiracy, belonging to an unlawful society and harmful acts.

The convicts, who begged the court to tamper justice with mercy, stated that they were aware of their wrong doings.

Magistrate Obasa did not give the convicts option to pay fine.

“I have considered the facts of this case, and that the defendants did not waste the time of this court by lying.

“I have also taken into consideration that they are first time offenders and teenagers, coupled with their alocutus for leniency.

”I hereby sentence them to three months imprisonment each,” she said.

Earlier, the prosecutor, Sgt. Godwin Oriabure, told the court that the convicts  committed the offence at 1 a.m. on Feb. 12, at Oshodi area of Lagos.

He said that they were members of an unlawful society, called “Aiye” and were arrested while smoking marijuana i

n public.

The offence, he said, contravened the provisions of sections 411, 42 (a) and 166 (a) of the Criminal Laws of Lagos State 2015 (Revised).

Edited By: Sadiya Hamza

Watch Live News

Make A Comment

Load more

Adaeze Iroha: is a graduate and a professionally trained journalist, with experience in national news reporting/editing and verification at the News Agency of Nigeria. NNN is a Nigerian online news portal that publishes breaking news in Nigeria, and across the world. Our journalists are honest, fair, accurate, thorough and courageous in gathering, reporting and interpreting news in the best interest of the public, because truth is the cornerstone of journalism and they strive diligently to ascertain the truth in every news report. Contact: editor[at]

Contact US: editor, nnnnews247

Latest News

April 2020