Connect with us


D-8 secretary-general assures member countries of 10th summit in Bangladesh



 The Developing Eight (D-8) Organisation for Economic Cooperation has assured member countries that the 10th summit of the organisation will hold in Bangladesh in June.

The Secretary-General of the group, Amb. Ku Jaafar Ku Shaari gave the assurance while speaking during a visit to Amb. Maryam Katagum, Nigeria’s Minister of State for Industry, Trade and Investment in Abuja.

The visit was on the sideline of the official signing of an agreement for the establishment in Nigeria, of the D-8 Headquarters on Health and Social Protection programmes.

He praised Nigeria for hosting a previous meeting of ministers from D-8 member countries.

He said that the signing of the agreement would be the first activity for the year in the bid to promote trade cooperation among member countries.

“Now we are engaging with member countries’ industrial sector on some of the new initiatives that will be endorsed and approved in the forthcoming summit in Dhaka, Bangladesh in June 2020.

“We are hoping that we will be able to achieve our ten-year target of doubling 50 per cent of what was achieved worth $110 U.S.

He identified trade as one of the most important sectors for the D-8, saying that most of the organisation’s goals were aimed at promoting bilateral trade relations.

Speaking, the minister of state applauded the secretary-general for the milestone so far recorded toward ensuring the signing of the agreement, saying it was in line with priorities of the Federal Government.

According to her, some of the key priorities of the President Muhammadu Buhari administration are ensuring the country’s economic growth and empowering the citizens.

“For us also, we intend to look at the empowerment of women because the population consists of women.

“We have to try to see how we can empower them with skills and education so that they can contribute both to the economy and their families.

“You are also aware of the large private sector and chamber of commerce in the country – areas in which we seek to promote investment,” she said.

She expressed Nigeria’s interest in trading by barter and promised to work closely with the D-8 to achieve meaningful growth.

Nigeria News Agency reports that the D-8 which was launched on June 15, 1997, has eight emerging economies as members.

The economies include Bangladesh, Egypt, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Pakistan, and Turkey.

Edited by: Emmanuel Yashim

Load more

Contact US: editor[at], nnnnews247[at]

Recent Posts

February 2020
« Jan

NNN News Nigeria: NNN is an online Nigeria news portal that publishes breaking news in politics, business, entertainment, sport, security, features, opinion, environment, education, technology, and the world news at large. NNN publishes only news that is factual, credible, verifiable, authoritative and investigative. NNN is a media subscriber of the News Agency of Nigeria. NNN is a unique media organization that is founded in the spirit of Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, comprising of ordinary people with an overriding commitment to seeking the truth and publishing it without fear or favor. Contact: editor[at]

© 2014 - 2019 NNN News Nigeria. All Rights Reserved.