Connect with us


Katsina Assembly extends tenure of 34 LG Chairmen



Katsina State House of Assembly has extended the tenure of the Transition Committees of the 34 local government councils in the state by three months.

Nigeria News Agency reports that the decision was sequel to a letter sent to the House by Gov. Aminu Masari to that effect.

The letter was read for deliberations at Wednesday plenary by the House Leader, Abubakar Abukur, representing Rimi constituency, and seconded by a member representing Kaita, Mr Musa Nuhu.

The lawmakers went into an Executive Session after which the Speaker, Mr Tasiu Maigari briefed newsmen on their decision.

Maigari said that the Assembly had agreed to extend the tenure from August 1, 2019, to October 31, 2019.

The lawmakers, however, resolved that “the extension of this set of transition committee is final.

“Subsequently, where the need arises, the Executive Arm of Government should submit a fresh list of transition committee for screening and confirmation to the house.”

The Speaker directed Clerk of the house to forward the resolution to the executive for necessary action.

NAN reports that the 34 local government transition committees were inaugurated on Aug. 13, 2018.

The opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) had instituted legal action challenging the dissolution of elected local government councils by the governor in 2015.