Connect with us

Science & Technology

Lagos Nawoj elects new chairperson



The Lagos State Chapter of National Association Women Journalist (NAWOJ) on Thursday elected Mrs Adeola Ekine from the Lagos State Information as the new Chairperson of the association.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the position of the chairperson was won by Ekine with 296 votes followed closely by Mrs Sekinat Lawal, from Chief Detectives, and  immediate past chairperson NAWOJ with 16 votes.

Ekine while taking the oath of office,  promised to run a transparent and all inclusive administration during her tenure.

She also assured members that she would promote good and healthy relationship within the association and bring all Nawojians together.

The newly elected chairperson promised to bridge all gaps within the association.

She, however, appreciated all for the support given during the election.

The chairman, electoral committee, Mrs Biola Beckley also declared Mrs Bunmi Yekini of Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) as the Vice chairperson with 299 votes defeating Tessy Ugomu of the Sun Newspaper with 11 votes.

Beckley said that the election was free and fair in spite of the initial rancour and the purported court injunction.

”The committee promised to deliver a free and fair election which we have done and sworn in the new executives which was done by a lawyer from the Ministry Of Justice, ” she said.

She, however, advised Nawojians to work together and corporate to move the association forward.

Also speaking, Mrs Moronike Toye-Esan, Vice Chairperson, Nawoj Zone B said that women should speak with one voice.

The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the following contestants were unopposed,  Mrs Lillian Ario, Secretary, Voice of Nigeria (VON) Mrs Sherifat Shittu-Maku, Treasurer, Radio Nigeria, Eko FM, Mrs Rukayat Adeyemi, Auditor, NAN and Mrs Abosede Adelaja, Vangard, Asst. Secretary.

The new executives would steer the affairs of the association for the next three years.