Connect with us

General news

Nasarawa State Assembly constitutes 22 standing committees





Lafia, Aug. 26, 2019 The Speaker, Nasarawa State House of Assembly, Alhaji Ibrahim Balarabe-Abdullahi, has announced Chairmen of the 22 House Standing Committees and their members to conduct the affairs of the legislature.

Balarabe-Abdullahi, while announcing the names of the committees in Lafia on Monday, urged them to live above board while discharging their duties.

The speaker urged the lawmakers not to compromise while performing their oversight functions in the interest of peace and development of the state.

According to him, we have been sworn in for three months now, hence the need for the constitution of the Standing Committees to pilot the affairs of the House.

He said that the Rules and Business Committee is to be chaired by Tanko Tunga, who is also the Majority Leader of the House, while,  Danladi Jatau, the Minority Leader is to head the Committee on Public Complaints and Petitions.

Similarly, the Works and Transport Committee is to be chaired by Abdullazeez Danladi, while Danladi Ogazi is to take charge of Education, Science and Technology.

Others are: Public Accounts Committee to be chaired by  Abdullahi Angibi, while Finance and Appropriation Committee Chairman is Aliyu Dogara.

The Chairman, Local Government Committee is Mohammed Alkali, while Lands and Survey Committee is to be chaired by David Maiyaki.

Mohammed Muluku is the Chairman of the House Committee on Budget, Planning and Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Mohammed Bello is to head the Committee on Capital Market/Commerce and Industry, while the Committee on Youths and Sports is to be chaired by Musa Iyimoga,’’ the speaker said.

The speaker also announced Usman Shafa as Chairman, Committee on Health; Ali Nana, Chairman, Committee on Public Service and Pilgrims; while Women Affairs Committee is to be chaired by Samuel Tsebe.

While Abel Bala is the Chairman, Welfare Committee,  Mohammed Okpoku is to be in charge of the Committee on NASIEC, Multilateral Cooperative and Community Development, while Mohammed Omadefu is the Chairman of the Committee on Information.

“Zhekaba Iliya is to chair Housing and Environment Committee and Ibrahim Akwe is the Chairman, House Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources.

“The Committee on Water Resources and Rural Development is to be chaired by Suleiman Adamu; Suleiman Yakubu is to chair Urban and Regional Planning (NUDB) Committee and John Osewu is the Chairman, Judiciary Committee,’’ he said.

Balarabe-Abdullahi further announced Nehemiah Dandaura, the Deputy Speaker of the House as the Chairman, Project Monitoring.

The speaker wished them well and urged them to start preparing for their various oversight functions in order to assess the level of the 2019 budget performance of Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs).

Edited By: Saidu Adamu/Adeleye Ajayi

Load more

Contact US: editor[at], nnnnews247[at]

Recent Posts

February 2020
« Jan

NNN News Nigeria: NNN is an online Nigeria news portal that publishes breaking news in politics, business, entertainment, sport, security, features, opinion, environment, education, technology, and the world news at large. NNN publishes only news that is factual, credible, verifiable, authoritative and investigative. NNN is a media subscriber of the News Agency of Nigeria. NNN is a unique media organization that is founded in the spirit of Article 19 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, comprising of ordinary people with an overriding commitment to seeking the truth and publishing it without fear or favor. Contact: editor[at]

© 2014 - 2019 NNN News Nigeria. All Rights Reserved.