Connect with us


NWPL: Bayelsa Queens, Rivers Angels, Confluence Queens, Adamawa Queens qualify for Super 4



Defending champions Bayelsa Queens, alongside Rivers Angels, Confluence Queens and Adamawa Queens, have qualified for the 2018/2019 Nigeria Women Premier League (NWPL) Super 4 tournament.

The quartet made the cut after finishing top in the four different groups of the abridged league season.

The final fixtures, Match Day 6 games which decided the fate of the 16 clubs in the league, ought to have been concluded on Wednesday.

But two matches were postponed till Thursday due to heavy downpour in the various match venues.

Bayelsa Queens and Nasarawa Amazons drew 2-2 on Thursday for the Yenagoa side to qualify for an opportunity to defend their title with 11 points.

This was at the expense of Sunshine Queens of Akure in Group C.

The Akure-based team also ended on 11 points but their South-South rivals moved on through superior goals.

Meanwhile, the 2019 Aiteo Cup winners, Nasarawa Amazons, and Kaduna Queens finished with five and four points respectively in the group.

Rivers Angels saw off Delta Queens at home via a lone goal also on Thursday to sit on top of Group A with 13 points, leaving their visitors with eight points.

Tge group’s runners-up, FC Robo of Lagos, followed with 11 points while Osun Babes FC acquired only a single point after five losses and a draw this season.

In Group B, Adamawa Queens sealed the top four spot with 12 points while Edo Queens FC managed a 10-point finish as Heartland Queens of Owerri and Dream Stars FC of Lagos rallied behind with seven and four points each.

Also, Confluence Queens FC of Lokoja struggled past Abia Angels FC to book the Super 4 ticket with 11 points and a point difference separating the Lokoja team from the Umuahia Ladies.

Ibom Angels FC of Uyo garnered nine points while the Invincible Angels of Gboko got four points.

The Nigeria News Agency reports that the Super 4 will be played on a date to be announced by the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL) to determine the final winners of the league.

(Edited by Dianabasi Effiong and Olawale Alabi)