NNN.COM.NG is a portal where you can read latest Nigeria News from all Nigerian Newspapers such as such as Punch, Vangaurd, Daily Times, Thisday, Guardian, Nation, Leadership and more in one place. NaijaNews aggregates Naija News and sort them according to their sources, category and relevance as a way of reducing the effort a news reader needs to put in to reading Nigerian News and across the world.

Ozubulu killings: Group urges Nigerians to respect sanctity of human life

A group, International Society for Civil Liberties and the Rule of Law (Intersociety), has urged Nigerians, irrespective of wealth and positions, to respect the sanctity of human life.

The Chairman, Board of Trustees of Intersociety, Mr Emeka Umeagbalasi, made the call while speaking with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in Enugu on Sunday.

He was reacting to the Ozubulu Church killings on Aug. 6, which has thrown Anambra into a state of mourning.

‘‘We totally condemned the latest massacre at the Ozubulu, precisely in St Philip’s Catholic Church.

‘‘The Police Command in Anambra must leave no stone unturned and ensure that the culprits, wherever they are or reside, are fished out and made to face the full length of the law,’’ he said.

The Parish Priest of St. Philip’s Catholic Church, Rev. Fr. Jude Onwuaso, said a gunman came into the Church and shot at a man, Chief Akunwafor Ikegwuonwu before shooting other worshippers sporadically.

The incident led to the death of 12 worshippers instantly inside the church and 20 others with serious injuries were admitted at the Nnamdi Azikiwe University Teaching Hospital (NAUTH),Nnewi.

Meanwhile, the Acting President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, on Aug. 12, sent a condolence message to the government and the people of Anambra over the attack on worshippers.

The message was presented to Gov. Willie Obiano by a Federal Government delegation of five ministers.

The Ministers in the delegation were those of the Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige; Health, Prof. Isaac Adewole; Foreign Affairs, Mr Geoffrey Onyeama.

The Minister of State for Environment, Malam Usman Jibril and that of State for Education, Prof. Anthony Anwuk also made the list.

Source: NAN

« Previous Article
Osinbajo congratulates Kenyatta on re-election

Source link